Skip to content

Time….Just for Shellie!

February 2, 2008

Time…there is never enough of it.  Not enough hours in a day.  There’s always something to do and I want to do it all.  I’m not 18 anymore.  I don’t have the energy.  Where did it go?

Last night, I went to my 30th year reunion with 21 of my junior college buddies.  There were enough of the old group to sing at homecoming.  It was fun to sing together again for the first time since 1983.    It was fun to catch up.  Who is a grandparent?  (not me, thank goodness)  Who’s back in school?  (only me)  Who still has a child at home?  (yep me again but they are grown)  I’m amazed at those who do still have school aged children at nearly 50!!!!  Horrors!  More terrifying are those who thought there were done with babies and got surprises at 45.  Hee Hee.  ( not me ) 

Time, ah time.  It deals with us all sometimes changing us to be unrecognizable and others it leaves almost untouched.  I’m not sure how that is fair.  Hair was the most astonishing thing to ponder.   It ranged in color from white to silver to gray to brown to red!  Mine hasn’t seen dye in a while now…salt and pepper.  My old friend, Jerry has white hair…OMG!

It’s funny how time melted away once we started talking.  Those 18 year olds were back and we were having fun sitting around the table at Jalepeno Tree for hours.  Funny how the 50 somethings reappeared when we got up after sitting for so long.  Boy, we were stiff!  LOL.  It was a great night and I hope we do it again sometime.

Yesterday, I was on a politician’s webpage and found a note from a 16 year old boy concerning abortion, when women could get pregnant and was there ever a time that sex was safe?  Wow!  16 and unenlightened!  What a find.  I thought about it awhile and decided to answer him.  It took about 3 hours to word a reply, to get it just right.  Knowing teenagers, I could only imagine what his response might be.  I shut my eyes and clicked submit to send it on it’s way and I received his reply just moments ago:  “Thank you.  Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions. I appreciate it.”  What a nice kid!!!  I think it is a shame when kids ask questions and no one will answer.  Times have changed.  When I was his age, I knew nothing.  No one answered questions for me.  No one let you ask.  I tried to give answers to my kids openly and honestly, giving as much information as they were ready to hear.  How I wish everyone did that.  

Tonight is Amber’s 26th birthday party.  Who am I to have a child on the 30 side of 20?  When did it happen?  Time flies!!!   She arranged her own get together with friends at Olive Garden…no gifts, pay your own way, just a leisurely time with her pals.  I like it…uncomplicated…unhurried…unbirthdayish though.  When she and her sibs were little, it was easy to buy birthday gifts…they always craved a new toy.  Teen years brought new playthings.  Now, who knows?  Money is unimaginative and shows little thought.  I never know about books.  It’s an extreme test 5 times a year!

Next year, sigh, all the kids will be in different cities on their birthdays.  This may be the last of the birthday gatherings as Amy may be gone before her birthday in July.  We aren’t going to think about that!  Sob!

Time, Ah time!
 

One Comment leave one →
  1. becauseimmom permalink
    February 5, 2008 3:05 pm

    Oh Thank you Lynn! Especially for Me?? Way Cool. I like the way you write. I will blog roll you and check back often. Thank you sweetie. Shellie

Leave a Reply

