Skip to content

Cow Town Capers

March 14, 2008

So….we just dropped everything and went to Ft Worth a day early.  It was nice to be impulsive for a change and just do what we wanted to do.  The drive was relaxing, at least for me;  Rodney was gripping the wheel and talking to other drivers about maintaining their own lanes.  That was funny. 

Arrived in town about 6:45 tonight.  Checked into the on-campus hotel….very nice.  Older folks are every where.  Parking lots are really full.  After getting settled, we went over to get Jason and Tonya and then on to Souper Salads.  Why can’t we have one of those at home?  Sigh, we usually get fast food or grease….YUCKY.

Homework has been a memory since last Thursday….a whole week off…so tonight, I picked it up and worked on it…has to be.  I have to lead the group on Monday night so I have to be ready.  The full impact of the force of this class really hit home this week.  Family Violence had 21 on the first night…after the first test, we are down to 11 in the class.  Wow!

I’ve been thinking about what happens after graduation.  I think I will learn to really speak Spanish…seems we need that in Texas.   Since 80% of the world speaks Espanol, I need to learn to too.

I missed out on Grandparents day by coming to the city a day early so Amy will go to lunch with Ryan in my place tomorrow.   He and I get to spend a lot of time together starting next Friday, though.  I thought I was done with teaching but I’m gonna be working with my sweet little boy on Fridays from now on.  We will both enjoy it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2008 1:21 pm

    Are you attending TCU, SWBTS, or TWU?

    I miss Ft. Worth.

  2. mamacurry permalink*
    March 14, 2008 2:51 pm

    I go to the University of Texas at Tyler but am in Ft. Worth at SWBTS visiting my son who is a student here. I like Ft Worth a lot!

  3. March 14, 2008 3:32 pm

    Cool what degree?

    Me: MDiv ’00
    Hubby: MDiv ’02

    The on campus hotel is nice but it came with a great price.

  4. mamacurry permalink*
    March 15, 2008 6:30 am

    He is getting the ME and will begin the doctoral program in Jan. 09. Congrats on your degrees from there. I think it a wonderful school. What are you doing with your degrees now?

  5. March 15, 2008 4:36 pm

    My husband is working a PhD. He thought about staying at SWBTS but didn’t like the way the students are treated. Really, there are no professors left for him to study under anyway.

    I work in a Christian bookstore. Taught for a while in a Christian school.

  6. mamacurry permalink*
    March 15, 2008 10:30 pm

    Jason loves his professors and is planning on staying for the doctorate. But he got his BA from a tiny seminary in Jacksonville so he hasn’t had too many of them here. What do you mean about the hotel coming with great price?

  7. March 17, 2008 1:21 am

    When they built the hotel they closed the cafeteria on campus for several years & cut student services. I guess I’m just sentimental about the cafeteria because that is where I met my husband. Oh check out my blog shortly because I’m tagging you in a meme.

  8. March 17, 2008 8:23 pm

    We just picked up some friends from FW who flew out here there (FL) for their spring break.

Leave a Reply

