Skip to content

A few of my least favorite things.

April 15, 2008

Sand on the doorstep and winds blowing wildly. 

Headache and pollen and boxes of kleenex.

New kittens and taxes; exams in the spring.

These are a few of my least favroite things.

I must live in the allergy capital of the world.  I hate pollen.  Nasty yellow stuff all over everything.  Much as I love spring and all the “newness” of the world, I hate feeling bad because of it.  It must suck to be a bee with allergies.  Yellow grainy stuff=green leaves and pretty flowers….how?  It’s a mystery, right?   Like cows eating green grass and turning it into white milk. 

I missed school yesterday.  Another darn headache and it is allergy driven.  I can’t take allergy meds.  I sleep for days when I do and they interact with my other meds that I must take.  It isn’t so bad today so I’ll make class.

Did my taxes yesterday.  My W-2 is nowhere to be found so I used my last check stub.  I requested another from the university.  Will have to send in the W-2 when I get it.  IRS has a copy anyway.   Made Amy do her own tax return this time.  She was so mad that she had to pay…all of nine dollars!  I had to laugh.  She sounded like one of Rodney’s older uncles…work hard for just a little bit of money and then have to pay…just look at what they took out already…on and on.  Amber, being the independent student, got a refund!  I really paid this time!

I love kittens but It’s hard to give kittens away.  Over the last two weeks, we have had 9 kittens.  There is still one more mom to have babies.  I gave one mom and her three kittens away, leaving us with 6 babies and 5 grown cats on the back porch right now.  My sign will read:  Lots of kittens.  Free to good home.  Please take!

I’m glad to see grass again.  We don’t have much in the winter.  During March and April the winds are terrible.  Without grass, the air is filled with blowing sand.  Gotta dust!

Lastly, I hate being tired all the time.  Spring exams are the absolute worst.  Flower beds beckon and I can’t get there.  My nose is permanently in a some book.

Now that I’ve done my tongue-in-cheek rave for the day, there is always good news.  I’ll pass this semester. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 6:45 pm

    You could live in west Texas were it is always blowing sand.

  2. mamacurry permalink*
    April 15, 2008 7:17 pm

    no thank you….couldn’t wear contacts ever there

  3. becauseimmom permalink
    April 15, 2008 10:06 pm

    Thanks for the offer of the kittens or kitten. My answer is NOWAY he he.

    There will be another one come up soon enough to take his place, that I am sure of.

    But I know someone who is giving away puppies??? 😀

Leave a Reply

