Skip to content

Arrrrgh. Ahoy, mateys. It’s hot!

June 19, 2008

I was pounced on earlier today by two pygmy pirates in eyepatches and doo-rags.  They flung their treasure of discarded poker chips, play money, and silver coins from the dollar store all over my bed and yelled like banshees.  Then I laughed.  B&D the boys, my sister takes care were decked out in their pirate best complete with knee high rubber boots and eyeliner goatees.  Very cute!

The a/c in the house went out in the morning and the car a/c quit in the afternoon and on a really hot day.  A friend’s neighbor backed into his house and his outside a/c unit was between the back of the truck and the house.  Not pretty.  We’ve had stormy weather for parts of several days and lightening took out many units in the area.  Mom’s a/c went out yesterday morning.  All of this means my husband is in great demand!  So far, he has fixed them all.  I’m so proud.

He also is finishing up an apartment remodel that he has been working on for several months.  He is down to the last few days.  Many thanks to Jason and Amber who have helped him get done.  He has one more big project to finish after that and then, we can start the remodel on our house.  Whew!

I’ve been looking ahead to the fall and all the classwork left to do.  There are only 3 classes left but so much to do in them.  I actually begin the counseling processes this fall, actually working with people and applying all I’ve learned.  Fact is, I’m scared to death! 

The 9-11 of July, we go to Eureka Springs to see MS perform in Opera in the Ozarks and to Branson to see Aunt Darlene.  We’ve looked at a beach house on Surfside for a week in July.  It would be a fun week, just relaxation.  Mom and my sisters and some friends and Rodney and I.  The Darbster and Mommie Mattie would go as well.  I’ll take my doggie for a walk in the sand.  Then, the first week of August, I’ll be in San Antonio for a music conference with my friend Sheryl.  That will round out my summer nicely.  With all the “other” activities I should be very relaxed when it is time to jump back into classes. 

In the meantime, it’s hot and will get hotter because it’s east Texas.  Hope the a/c continues to work and the pool stays full.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 9:51 pm

    Like the header.

    BTW how hot has it been? We went without AC for one month last year. Actually we have been surprised that Florida is not as hot has Texas. It is more humid but it has never reached 100 degrees since we moved here in 2003,

  2. mamacurry permalink*
    June 19, 2008 9:55 pm

    We’ve been high nineties, just short of the 100 mark all week. Humidity is also high…it’s the time of summer thunderstorms. From the first of May on through October, we use the A/C. Then, in winter, I put the insulators behind the drapes and we use only a small gas heater for the winter because the house is pretty toasty without the big unit.

  3. June 20, 2008 2:06 pm

    Only May through October? I can remember having the AC on during the day & having to turn on the heater at night.

  4. mamacurry permalink*
    June 20, 2008 4:16 pm

    You really could do that and if I get the chance, I do. My husband, being the frugal man he is, says that November is fall and you shouldn’t use a/c in the fall. LOL. He doesn’t know it but we do it all the time. Especially when it is 84 on Christmas Day and there’s a housefull of people.

  5. June 21, 2008 1:59 am

    Nothing like wearing shorts at noon and watching the snow & ice fall by night fall.

  6. mamacurry permalink*
    June 21, 2008 3:05 am

    yep and that has happened a time or two and in reverse as well.

  7. June 21, 2008 3:44 am

    My mom came out for Christmas & was surprised at how warm Christmas was.

  8. mamacurry permalink*
    June 22, 2008 2:49 am

    I have been wishing for a white Christmas for many, many years. The closet we ever got was a few years ago when we woke up on Christmas morning with ice everywhere and 28 degrees. By late afternoon it was 67 and all was thawed.

  9. June 23, 2008 12:30 am

    There were a couple of times that my grandma in Ok had snow & by the time we could get up there it was melted.

    We saw a white Christmas when we were on our honeymoon in Branson.

Leave a Reply

