Skip to content

It’s that time of year when…

July 1, 2008

Weddings abound!  I’ve done my weekly shopping online to visit all the bridal registries at Target, Walmart, and others to pick from the lists.  No less than 5 this week!  Most weeks have had 3 or more.  Only one baby shower this week, though.  It’s fun to see what everyone picks out.  That practice was usually only for china and flatware when I was getting married.  I didn’t register anywhere because I had my grandmother’s silver and my husband’s sweet dad gave us a 12-place setting of china and all the serving dishes.  Nice, huh.  I like the fact that the brides just pick out their stuff now and we can just select from their selections.  It makes gift-giving easier and the newlyweds have what they want.  No returns so it’s easier for the stores too.

Kittens abound.  We still have 5.  I think today is the day for giving away those littel fuzzies. They sure are cute.  I’m sure someone will fall in love with each and every one.  I do dread sitting in the heat at Walmart to give them away and truth is, I’m a bit attached to each one.

Bugs abound.  I hate bugs.  I hate sounding like a whiny baby too, but bugs are evil.  I know that when I get to Heaven, the last thing on my mind will be bugs but for now, I have to question God’s creation of bugs.  Summer in the country brings myriads of the creatures, inside and out.  I haven’t yet found a purpose for them…unless, sigh, it is for me to learn patience or to build my endurance of situations.

Vacationers in RVs abound.  With our road and it’s sporadic construction, comes summer and countless RVs heading for points all over the country.  In the rolling hills of East Texas, the going gets rough when you are behind several vactioners who are looking at the scenery…yeah, it’s pretty…and holding up traffic.  While I fuss, I can’t wait to get my own RV and head out with my Rodney!!!  That’s the plan…to go in our very own retirement home away home and work with Baptist Builders.

Ozone levels soar.  It’s been really hot!  I’ve burned a lot this year.  Medications potentiate the process and I am often crispy before I know it’s happened.  I am blistered in this sun in less than 15 minutes.  The UV level yesterday was at 9.  The dermatologist will be happy to see me…lots of work to do.

Flowers bloom.  I love to look at them, smell them, walk among them, and I would love to grow them.  Alas, I have a “black” thumb.  I can grow anything that doesn’t bloom and whose cuttings will grow in place if you drop them on the ground.  I have lots of green stuff but no color.  Marigolds do well but I didn’t plant any because I didn’t raise tomatoes this year as Mom had plenty.  The few bulbs I have in the yard have bloomed and gone with the spring so all the color has disappeared.  I had azaleas a few years ago but I must have done something wrong.  They bloomed beautifully all winter long and died in the summer.

Snakes appear on the earth.  I hate snakes!  I once told someone that had I been Eve, we would still be in the Garden of Eden because I wouldn’t have fraternized with a snake!  I know the Bible says the serpent was beautiful so it might have been different then…but snakes are far from beautiful now and I shudder to think about them.  My husband loves watching tv in the evenings and when he turned it on last night, a poor child was in a room just full of the hissing, writhing snaky things and I had to beg him to change the channel, please.  It beats me how people can have them as pets…huge things like the one in the news yesterday.  It made the 5:00 report because it swallowed the family’s cat and they managed to get it to “give it up”.  Final report says both were doing well.  Makes you wonder if they were desparate for news.  Their ratings shouldn’t depend on me!

Mother becomes cranky and stubborn about working in the heat.  Mother is 72 and insists that she has a garden.  You find her in the heat of the day in her sunbonnet and long-sleeved shirt among the beans and tomatoes hoeing weeds.  Then she doesn’t feel well.  Go figure!  She is worried because we have had little rain.  Of course, my response is water it if you think it needs it.  Nope, can’t do that.  I love fresh produce but I am content to get it from the local farmer’s market and not as a result of Mom’s sweat and tears.  I worry about her but I aknowledge that gardening gives her something to do.  I do wish she would choose the cooler hours for her forays into the plants and flower beds.  I like her winter time pursuit of quilting much better.  Isn’t she cute?

Work must be done.  It may be those lazy, crazy days of summer but there are many things left to accomplish before school starts.  I’ve gotta get busy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2008 9:27 pm

    One of the few things I don’t miss about Texas .. Summer. We moved to Florida in July 2003. That year by mid June we had over 30 days over 100. It has never reached 100 degrees here.

  2. mamacurry permalink*
    July 1, 2008 9:54 pm

    Supposed to be 93 when we wake up in the morning.

  3. July 2, 2008 12:24 am

    I don’t miss that. One year I went to Vancouver in late July and returned the 1st week in August. The day I left it was barely 60 degrees at 2 pm. When I got back to DFW that night it was 96 degrees at 11 pm.

  4. mamacurry permalink*
    July 2, 2008 5:38 am

    I went to Kalispel, MT on Oct. 1 about 10 years ago. It was 84 when I left DFW and 24 when I got off the plane in MT. I didn’t even take a coat. Very naive, I guess. Had to borrow one for the trip. Yeah, that’s TX weather and it does mess with our minds.

  5. July 2, 2008 2:28 pm

    We usually come back at Christmas time to visit family. The Big Guy is from Bryan & my family is in Central, N. Central & W. Texas as well as OK. So we never know how to pack. We have to pack cold weather and warm weather clothes. This past trip was so nice because I packed for 5 days in an small bag plus graduation gifts and still had room left over.

Leave a Reply

