Skip to content

When life hands you lemons, you can make lemonade or drink a coke!

August 19, 2008

Amy’s car problems, while serious, led to a nice thing for me, at least.  We didn’t want her to have a car payment or have to worry about the situation.  The solution for her dad and I was to pay off her car, have a trusted friend look it over for us and the verdict will be delivered this week sometime.  In the meantime, I left my car, a 1998 Buick Century with her.  That left us with a problem.  There are 3 people in our household and Rodney’s little truck holds only 2…what to do?  When we were discussing possible solutions, Rodney was looking at carlots for nice used cars.  He found a beauty.  I gave Amy my car and I have a 2005 Ford 500 in my parking spot now.  Very nice.  Amy interviews with a Buick dealership today.  Maybe that car will be a help to her.  At least we know that if this job pans out, she will be able to get a good trade.

Just over 2 weeks ago, we went to Home Depot in Tyler and ordered 65 boxes of wood laminate floor covering.  We went to the front to pay and were told that we didn’t need to pay til it came in and they couldn’t take our payment.  So we came home believing it would be here by now.  Yesterday the store called and asked when they might expect payment and said they couldn’t order it til we paid for it.  After we paid via credit card over the phone, then they tell us, it is on backorder.  I can’t win.  At least I had not yanked the carpet out yet.

Due to a fainting episode on July 4th, my doctor sent me to a cardiologist, who ordered an event monitor.  It is a small box that does a looping recording of what is going on with my heart.  If you press a button when an event occurs, it saves the recording of the past 5 minutes and the next 5 as well….hence it’s name…event monitor.  I was told to drive to the hospital yesterday to have the monitor placed.  Turns out they had no idea what I was talking about.  They also said they had to work out a payment plan since yours truly has no insurance at present.  They had no idea what to charge so I paid $132…go figure.  I made a 2 hour round trip, talked with people who hadn’t a clue, paid my money, and the monitor will delivered UPS.  I will do the hook-up myself.  That’s the way it is sometimes.

I’m getting ready for school.  This is my clinicals school year.  Only 3 classes and I’m done.  I’m looking forward to graduation and receiving the hood but this is a very stressful semester coming up.  I have both orals and GRE to take as well as my licensure exam.  All have to be completed before I have my practicum in the spring.  It’s pretty overwhelming to think about it all.  I woke up today focused in on the work for the fall and by noon, I was a nervous wreck.  Someone sent me the sweetest email and a link to Faith Stringfellow’s website.  Here it is so you can see for yourself just how wonderful this doggie is.  http://www.faiththedog.net/  Faith was born w/o useable front legs and her owner, Jude, has, taught her to walk on her hind legs like humans do.  Faith is amazing and so is her story.  If Faith can do it, so can I.  And so can you.

When life hands you lemons, you can let them rot by sitting down and wringing your hands.  You can have the proactive but predictable and ordinary response and make lemonade.  Or… you can choose to do something else… you can throw off the problems, no matter how hard it is and do something extraordinary and new…you can drink a coke or walk upright life Faith.  You choose.  I choose the coke.  I’ll be the ordinary lady with the extraordinary response to life’s situations.

While you are browsing around in the land of internet, stop by here.  http://wildcabbage.net/did-you-know/  It hasn’t a thing to do with today’s post but it is a fun site.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2008 10:56 pm

    Sounds like you have had a busy week.

    Does Amy live in FW?

    Saturday I lost my job. Due to unforeseen circumstances the store had to close unexpectedly and immediately.

  2. mamacurry permalink*
    August 19, 2008 11:18 pm

    I did have a busy week. And we moved Amy to FW 2 weeks ago tomorrow. She is interviewing for jobs like crazy. I’m so sorry about your job. What are your plans now?

  3. August 20, 2008 2:26 am

    I have a temp job for a couple of weeks. Oh, the car trouble part reminded me be sure to tell Amy if she ever has car trouble call Mike Jewell. He is on James Ave near the Seminary. They have worked on our family’s cars for years. He is a SWBTS grad.

    What part of FW is Amy in?

  4. mamacurry permalink*
    August 20, 2008 2:33 am

    Not too far from Hulen Mall. I’ll remember Mike. He’s close to my son.

  5. August 20, 2008 3:44 am

    I used to live near Hulen mall on Overton. The Enclave (across from super target.

  6. mamacurry permalink*
    August 20, 2008 4:27 am

    She lives in the Savoy.

  7. August 20, 2008 11:38 am

    Yeah that is over there by Hulen BC. Had a friend who used to live there before it went down hill but that was in the 90’s before the area started building up.

  8. mamacurry permalink*
    August 21, 2008 3:25 am

    Lots of seminary students there now and some of my son’s friends are in the same complex so she feels safe.

  9. August 21, 2008 12:15 pm

    That is good. When my friend 1st moved there many cops lived there.

    Oh, that Presbyterian church down the road has a beautiful pipe organ

  10. August 21, 2008 10:30 pm

    Off topic but we are taking a direct hit from TS Fay.

  11. mamacurry permalink*
    August 22, 2008 5:12 pm

    Are you guys ok?

  12. August 22, 2008 5:42 pm

    Yes not as much rain as expected. The eye of the storm did pass over us.

Leave a Reply

