Skip to content

January 1, 2009

Happy New Year!  It’s been a while.  The internet is still down most of the time.  It’s supposed to be fixed tomorrow.  I’m not holding my breath.  It’s appropriate that my first post in a long time occurs on the first day of the new year. 

Son, Jason and wife had a smoke out at their house in the fall.  It took a long, long time to get their house liveable again.  They even got it all decorated for Christmas and it looked so pretty.  I know they are happy to be back in their own place among their own things.  I’ve been there and I remember how it felt to have life rearranged so drastically. 

Rodney and Jason both graduated from their respective programs on Dec. 12.  Rodney is now a certified HVAC tech and Jason has a masters (MACE) from SWBTS in Ft. Worth.  I’m so proud of them both.  All the girls are now working on master’s work; Tonya and Amy at seminary and Amber at UTT.   That September 1 morning in 1987 when Amber began kindergarten at our dining room table seems so long ago.  Our years of home schooling are but a memory now but the memories are wonderful.   The kids have come so far, so fast.  They all have their dreams are so motivated to pursue them.   They are called to their professions are dedicated to following them as God leads.  Again, I’m so proud of them all.

December ended my classroom hours in my quest for a master’s degree.  This semester is dedicated to my practicum.  I’ll be working for a company based in a big teaching hospital not too far from here.  I will be using nursing, counseling, and assessment skills and learning, oh, so much.  I can’t wait.  My clients will be in rehabilitation following severe brain traumas.  I’ll counsel with them and their families, run a support group for all the clients and families and do psychological assessments.  I’ll be working with one of my favorite professors.  It really sounds too good to be true and I look forward to  my first day on Jan. 12.

but first…

We leave Sunday on another cruise!   May’s adventure  was wonderful and most relaxing.  Rodney and I both felt a need to get away and so off we go.  We’ll visit the same ports but take a different ship on a different route.  Friends will be onboard too…not that we would ever be lonesome together.  A full week away…bliss on RCI Voyater!  I’ll let you know how I liked it!

The kids were all home for Christmas.  I’m so grateful for times together.  Christmas was all the sweeter because they were here.  I found myself missing my dad and grandparents so much more this year and Rodney said this was a year he really missed his folks.  Lots of memories. 

Christmas morning...new pjs

Christmas morning...new pjs

Our granny Polly will be moving away sometime in this new year.  We will miss her so much.  It won’t feel like our hometown without her.  The kids have never known what it is to be w/o her.  At 90, we felt it was a hard time of life to make such a drastic change but she is determined.

It was the first year my mom’s brothers and sisters did not all come together for a Christmas dinner.  Some of us did meet just before Christmas at a local restaurant but it wasn’t the same.  Instead of Christmas, they decided to meet around Valentine’s Day this year and maybe more of the kids and grandkids would show up.  Hope that works.  I was sad to forego the usual holiday get-together.

We all gathered in Ft. Worth for Jason’s graduation.  He had a long row of family at the graduation.  All in all, it was a wonderful day.  Rodney elected not to walk for his diploma so we bought him the cap and gown anyway and made him have his picture made with his son. 

 

Family Pew at Travis Avenue
Family Pew at Travis Avenue

The grads

The clan
The clan

It’s been a wonderful 2008.  I’m looking forward to this new year.  Aren’t you?

Hmmm….I notice when looking at the pictures that you will see a slight, okay, a huge, difference in my hair color between graduation and Christmas morning.  Ok…so I’m tired of gray hair so I had it  done!!!  Yeah, maybe I’m vain or maybe I laugh in the face of growing old!  Later, all!
6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 6:08 am

    I was wondering if you are still alive. We are in Texas right now & head back to Fl Saturday.

    Hey do you use Facebook?

  2. mamacurry permalink*
    January 2, 2009 6:34 am

    I am still alive!!!…and kicking! I hope you guys have had a great holiday. I love Christmas but truthfully, I’m holidayed out right now…I’m tired. Ya’ll be safe driving back to Florida. I do have Facebook. I tried to send a link for you but it didn’t work.

  3. January 2, 2009 7:19 am

    I have driven 20 hours since hitting Texas. We left a week ago Sunday. Arrived in Houston on Mon. Spent Tuesday in Bryan and drove to Hamilton. Wed we went to OK. Friday, my mom and I went to Midland. Sunday we went to Kermit and back to Abilene. Then back to my mom’s on Monday. We are headed to Waco tomorrow and leave on Saturday.

  4. January 2, 2009 7:23 am

    Sent you an FB request.

    Looks like that photo of your family was taken in Seminary housing.

  5. mamacurry permalink*
    January 2, 2009 8:46 am

    Great, I’ll add you as a friend. The photo was made in seminary housing….good eye. You be careful with all that driving…it tends to make one tired.

  6. March 17, 2009 3:15 pm

    Hey don’t feel bad, I have my hair “done” also! You have been such an Inspiration to me Lynn I can’t even explain it to you. I have been so busy with all my Schoolwork and now I only have three classes left before I finish with my Associates Degree. I then move on to begin my Bachelor’s Degree and will graduate in 2010. I enjoyed looking at the photos here, and reading your story. You have come a long way and so has your family. You all have achieved some major accomplishments in life that most people never get to experience. I miss talking to you girl! I hope to speak to you soon!

Leave a Reply

