Skip to content

Never too old to learn

November 5, 2010

I’ve made learning a priority for my whole life. First, I taught myself to read long before I went to school…a new word was opened to me by age 5 and explore it I did. In school, I was bored in class but reveled in the availability of new books. I spent lots of time at the library with novels and biographies and science. Even as a kid, I like how-to books. At 13, I was given a cassette player which needed repair. Yep, I read a book on the working and I fixed it. It lasted until after I had children. With books, I learned to sew, to use a computer, work on a computer, keep books, teach my children, simple mechanics, how to change a tire, how to get stains out…well you get the idea. I was a decent student in school coming out in the tops 15% of my class. I was more interested in learning things outside the classroom that I sometimes neglected what I heard inside. I could have put more effort in getting the grades but it was more important to me to learn something new today, something wonderful, something useful, even a new fact. I’ve carried that desire around for more than 50 years now. It came to the top when I homeschooled my children because I wanted them to understand that learning was dependent on the effort they put into it. I encouraged self-discovery, research, and sharing information with each other. They have fine analytical minds and their favorite Christmas gifts: a book and/or money or gift card to buy books. Their favorite trips: tours of ancient ruins, museums. Leisure time activities: History Channel, Smithsonian Magazine, National Geographic, DIY. When they all left for college, I was left with a void in my day…no more challenge to learn to keep ahead of them but no diminishing the desire to learn either. I went back to school and in 6 years, completed a bachelor of science and a Master of Arts in Counseloing.
Now that I can write all the little letters behind my signature, I still want to learn. Today’s lessons are not so much from books but from the people I meet in my work. I learn a lot from watching a person’s face and listening to his words but the biggest factor is in the nonverbal cues he gives while telling me what he thinks I wish to hear. So what have I learned lately?
1. People in the city are much like people in the rural areas. The difference is their attitude behind the wheel of a care.
2. There are many closet conservatives.in the world.
3. Neighbors are valuable. Friends are more precious than gold.
4. An open door and hospitality are acceptable no matter where you live.
5. Grandchildren make you smile.
6. Babies are precious gifts from God.
7. People watching is a rewarding activity.
8. Networking is not nonsense…it is essential to growing a business. With the right contacts, you can move a mountain if you are asked to do so.
9. A jigsaw puzzle is still a great family activity as well as a brain stimulator.
10. My dog loves me no matter what.
11. My husband is the greatest guy ever.
12. My children are great people.
13. To help someone else is to help yourself.
14. The greatest thing you can do for someone else is to be their friend.
15. The greatest gift you can give is yourself especially when you employ the gifts you have.
16. Life is what you make it. Every day is a learning experience. 17. You can choose to be joyful instead of miserable in any situation.
18. Greeting each new day with a positive perspective is important.
19. Negativity is the twin brother of defeat.
20. God is always in control. If I try to wrest it from him, then I will always lose.
Hab 3:17 Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labor of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls:
Hab 3:18 Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation.
Learning to live with joy…that’s the best thing to learn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 4:24 am

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

