Skip to content

JOB HUNTING IN YOUR 50s; IT’S JUST NOT FUN!

March 29, 2011

I never thought I’d be too old for anything.  I always thought I could do it all anytime I wanted to.  In the last few years, I’ve slowed down…oh, not because I wanted to, but because it was unavoidable.  Once I walked the floors of hospitals, caring for patients and could pull several double shifts a week and then go home to take care of my family and do all my church stuff, and volunteerism, and homeschool kids, and do the carpool and soccer practice, and music lessons, and housework….and…the list goes on.  Rodney tells me occasionally that he’s really glad I’ve finally gotten old enough he can slow down.  I want to go on record as saying, “I do not like this at all.”

The worst of it comes in the last 14 months of job hunting.  It seems that once you slow down, no one wants to hire you.  Not the best booster for self-esteem and confidence, I can tell you.  I still believe that God has the perfect job out there just for me and that soon He will have it waiting for me.  The question is, “Can I have faith and wait?”  I have to admit I have lapses and sleepless nights do follow but scripture my history with the Father ground me after a time and I cease my worry and drift off to some really peaceful rest times.

So many of the baby boomer group now struggle with the issues of no job, no income, no insurance, no security.  God always has a job for us to do.  He is all the insurance we will ever need..with salvation comes fire insurance after all.  He is our security and best of all our peace.  What more could we ask for?  I have to admit I did ask Him to send me a job, preferably a counseling job.  He answers in His time.  I know lots of others who find themselves in our position.  We encourage each other.  We pray for each other.  We learn to love each other and what friendships grow from this time of struggle when we work out our faith together!

I may be struggling with aging and joblessness but I’m rich, so rich in Jesus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

